The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,857,012 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

100 People And Events That Shaped The First Year Of TNB (40-31)

Posted by Ryne E. Hancock on June 23, 2008

40-Jasmine Scudder

39-“The Georgia Gang” (While NASCAR had the Alabama Gang, Crichton’s basketball program had the Georgia Gang that consisted of Michael Sapp, Stanley Brownlee, Slim Wimbush, and Sly Watkins, Jr., all of whom had ties to the Peach State.)

38-“CDR’s Finest Moment” (In the national semifinals, Chris Douglas-Roberts made a statement by dunking on UCLA’s Kevin Love. In the process, Love seeks out the guidance of Dr. Chris Scott for self-esteem issues.)

Brittney Davis, Bradley Greer, Ginny Galloway May 7, 2008

37Bradley Greer (The only Vol fan I can tolerate.)

36-“Florida State Football: Portrait of Dishonesty” (You know its bad when half of your team gets busted for cheating on a final before a bowl game against Kentucky.)

35-“Mama Lisa” (In the early days of my coverage of sports here in North Highland Park, one of my first supporters and second moms around North Highland Park was “Mama Lisa”. Obviously I spent more time getting advice from her on girls to life after college than I did in class.)

34-Matt “The Colonel” Sanders (Another early supporter of the blog in North Highland Park who later pleaded with me to be on my best behavior when I started doing announcing for softball games and said that I should do a reality show concerning my book.)

33-“Did You Guys Show Up?” (Days after Fisk’s women lost bad in a basketball game against Lipscomb, the Fisk men did one better by getting blown out by Crichton in Nashville. When Fisk played in Memphis in January, the team got confused and lost on their way to the gym.)

32-“Whatever Happened To Mental Intensity?” (Towards the end of the basketball season, I decided to face shortstop Aimee Grissom in a game of basketball. Apparently I didn’t have a clue on how to stop her shot.)

31-“What A Way To Fall To Earth” (After making the NCAA Regionals in 2008, the Memphis Tigers baseball team went back to their own losing ways. Don’t worry, I may try and see if I can make a power move over on campus about their baseball program.)

My time’s up. You’ve been a great audience.

Doc Holliday, Jr.

5 Responses to “100 People And Events That Shaped The First Year Of TNB (40-31)”

  1. Den said

    Awesome blog!

  2. Matt said

    Cool post. I always enjoy this blog. p.s. I tagged you guys to do a dumb meme, which makes no sense because it isn’t sports-related, which is why I did it. (Actually, it could be sports related.)

  3. Doc Holliday, Jr. said

    Thanks for the support, Indiana Matt. We try to do our best by being your morning laugh.

  4. Matt said

    Thanks for the support to both Matt AND Den…we’ll throw your link on the Friends Of section in the next day or so buddy…thanks for the props.

  5. Matt said

    And Matt…I saw the Call To Arms you posted with the bloggers…I’ll do mine to honor the TNB tag tomorrow! (Tuesday)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
