The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,856,505 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

Humbly But Slowly Approaching 200,000

Posted by Ryne E. Hancock on March 26, 2008

A year ago when I was in the middle of working on my book, I received an email from one of my good friends about my life and where it was at that point.

“Your life can’t get any better. The Cardinals won the World Series, the Colts won the Super Bowl and your book is about to be published,” the email read.

Four months later, I took a chance and helped bring this very blog that you are reading now to new heights as we sit on the verge of approaching 200,000 hits, something that was deemed impossible when we started this venture back in June of last year.

But unlike when we reached 100,000 on December 31st, which occurred the same day that the venerable Cincinnati Post ceased publication after 126 years, the accomplishment of reaching 200,000 hits is something that we six here at The Nasty Boys’ Sports Blog are humbly proud of.

Being that I once worked for a newspaper here in Memphis, a small paper that reached 50,000 readers in Millington, Covington, and other parts of northern Shelby and Tipton counties, I knew all too well about the need to include any and everyone in this blog, a piece of advice I received from a former newspaper editor during my time in journalism camp.

And as we approach 200,000 within in the next week and a half, we can’t thank you guys enough for supporting our website. Without you, this blog would be nothing more than a small round table of sports fans that write daily on their local teams, the big news of the day in sports, and God knows what.

Because of you guys, our blog could very well be the southern version of Deadspin, something I sure Matt and the rest of us would enjoy being known as, but still with the attitude of being the people’s sports blog.

To quote former Daily Oklahoman editor Edward King Gaylord, who said in a 1916 editorial, we shall continuously strive to be a people’s blog in every sense.

And as we’ve done since June of last year, we will continue to live by that creed and bring you the daily sports happenings with a dose of humor and personal insight.

5 Responses to “Humbly But Slowly Approaching 200,000”

  1. MoonDog said

    I’d say Edward Gaylord’s words are a good credo to live by, or write by in this case. I’d like to think I entered the blogosphere with essentially the same thought process. I’m not as impressed with Deadspin as some people are – they won’t set up my account to allow me to post comments, and I figure two weeks is long enough to accomplish that.

    But, this isn’t about Deadspin, it’s about you guys. I’m so glad to see my fellow Memphians doing well in the blogging world. You here at TNB and Joel, although he resides in Houston now, is doing well at YMSWWC.

    I’m very glad I came across the site and I appreciate the brief but friendly relationship we’ve established.

    Congratulations on 200K clicks and I certainly wish for millions more.

  2. Doc Hancock said

    Thanks, MoonDog. It’s been a journey I’ll always remember.

  3. Shea said

    Congrats on the 200 hits! Wait, what’s that you say? 200,000! No, it’s impossible. Oh, well. I’ll be there some day. If I could only learn to write readable content! lol. Serious congratulations, my man.

  4. Matt said

    Thanks, Shea. I appreciate and I am sure Doc and the rest of the crew does as well!!!!

  5. Nice…. CLAP, CLAP, CLAP.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
