The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,857,012 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

My Bracket

Posted by Matt on March 24, 2008

flames-sml.jpg

After a mediocre Day #1 on Thursday it seemed as if the Selection Committee might have gotten the seedings more right than ever despite the reported parity this year; then came the weekend. Two sets of 12 and 13 seeds, each from the same region, won on the same day for the first time in history. A San Diego Torrero squad that had supposedly handed Kentucky their most embarrassing home loss in recent memory saw Sunday play and fell just short of the Sweet 16 thanks to a streaking Western Kentucky team. We said goodbye to two #2 seeds, only the East saw the top four teams advance to the top four spots of the regional, and two 12 seeds and a 10 seed made it to the Sweet 16.

After starting out strong on Thursday and early Friday, I am left with a bracket that is one of my more pathetic offerings in sometime with my money bracket going a robust 9-7 in the Sweet 16. I can still go 6 for 8 in the Elite 8 and have all of my Final Four teams remaining so I am certainly looking forward to next weekend despite how boring the tournament was shaping up to be by late Thursday, but I can’t help but to wish bad things upon my bracket after the first four days.

2 Responses to “My Bracket”

  1. MoonDog said

    Don’t feel bad. You certainly aren’t alone. When two 12 seeds and a 10 seed get into the round of 16, that’s just a fluke. I’m not suggesting Villanova, WKU and Davidson didn’t earn the right to be there, but who in their right mind would pick them? I guess the people that did are in the running for the 10 large at ESPN. Not me.

  2. Matt said

    Nor I…lol…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
