The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,856,091 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

Johan Santana Traded To The Mets

Posted by Condo on January 29, 2008

santana.jpg

In case you have not visted ESPN.com in the last little bit… pending a physical and a contract extension for Santana, the Mets are the winner’s of the Johan Santana sweepstakes. The package includes Mets prospects Carlos Gomez, Philip Humber, Deolis Guerra and Kevin Mulvey. The top prospect of this group is Carlos Gomez, who is a CF that fills a void the Twins have after losing Torri Hunter to Free Agency with the Angels. There will be a 48-72 hour contract extension window for the Mets to work something out with Santana and his agent.

Personally, if this gets done, the Mets will have gotten a steal in my opinion as really none of the prospects the Twins receive are ‘can’t miss’ prospects. I believe the Twins were best suited hanging on to Santana and making a run at the division with a 1-2 punch of Santana & a healthy Liriano leading the way. I understand why the Twins made this move, I just don’t personally agree with it. What do you think? Leave your comments below and tell us what you think of this trade.

2 Responses to “Johan Santana Traded To The Mets”

  1. Matt said

    I don’t know much about the farm system that funnels in to the Big Apple by way of the minor leagues in to Shea Stadium. However, I feel like even my loley Reds could have given up 4 freaking prospects. I mean, we gave up Hamilton for Volquez…

    Obviously very different deals, but I think you see my point…

  2. Condo said

    Right… and this biggest problem with the whole situation is that Santana for the most part is calling the shots. He has a full no trade clause and if he is traded, he has the right to veto, OR to basically say “Ok, I will go there but only if they can/will extend my contract” which naturally takes most MLB teams out of the running.

    I still think the Twins would’ve been best served hanging on to him as long as possible, but I suppose it could be worse.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
