The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,857,013 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

It’s 2003 All Over Again And I Can’t F*cking Watch

Posted by Bob Swerski on September 26, 2007

goat.jpg

Playoffs and Marlins and Bartman, oh my! The Chicago Cubs are back in the playoff race, ahead of the Brewers by 2 going into tonight tonight as the Cubs lost and the Brewers won big, and I can’t take this anymore. Of all the teams in all the leagues, why do we have to play the Marlins? The same team that, in 2003, ended up nudging out my beloved Cubs who were only 5 outs away from the World Series. The memories (or lack their of because I got pretty f*cking wasted after the game to try to block it all out) are too much for Cub fans to bear.

Aisle 4, Row 8, Seat 114: The seat down the third baseline that changed the history of Cubs baseball like the previous 90 odd years that the boys in blue didn’t win. Then it was a botched double play ball by Alex Gonzalez (who had one of the best feilding percentages in the league).  Then it turned into an eight-run 8th inning and the Cubs lost 8-3. No fear though because our hero Wood was pitching the next day at home, and Wood and Prior had not lost back to back home games all year. They might have stolen game 6, but we had game 7.

The rest, as they say, is history:

marlins03.jpg

On a related note: If the Cubs don’t make the playoffs and the Reds are the team that spoils that for us, I may not be able to write for this weblog anymore.

3 Responses to “It’s 2003 All Over Again And I Can’t F*cking Watch”

  1. Fred said

    Fun isn’t it.

    As a Brewer fan and seeing the Cubs history of collapse…

    I like my chances.

  2. I read with interest as the Cardinals are out and the Cubs are still holding on. Bullseye!

    the Diamond Eagle
    http://www.DiamondEagleBlog.com

  3. I had to sell my soul to this at the beginning of the season, a hottie who was a Cubs fan.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
