The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,857,523 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

Leftovers From The Bon-Ton (7/7)

Posted by Ryne E. Hancock on July 8, 2007

After watching the rat marry Eva Longoria and pissing me off even more in France, I have returned to the States and to this blog with my new French supermodel girlfriend.

Problem is, I know only a little French.

While I was in France, I did manage to keep up with what was going on in sports and here’s a rundown of what I didn’t miss while I was getting drunk on wine.

  • Add St. Louis to the list of cities that don’t want to see Barry Bonds break Hank Aaron’s record, which is a complete shock to me because in 2004, I was in attendance when Ken Griffey, Jr. hit his 500th against the Cardinals at Busch Stadium on Father’s Day and the fans gave him a standing ovation. This couldn’t be said for places like New York or Boston when an opposing player accomplishes a milestone, but I forgot, this is Barry Bonds we’re talking about.
  • While I’m on the subject of the Cardinals, lefty Mark Mulder is doing well in his bullpen sessions, throwing 45-50 pitches before last night’s game against the Giants in his attempt to return from his rotator cuff surgery that took place in September of last year. Should he continue to throw well in his bullpen sessions, he should be back in the rotation by the end of the month or first part of August for the Cardinals.
  • Former University of Memphis standout Tim Duncan replaced longtime M Club director Al Brown, who I knew during my childhood as the TV voice of Memphis Tiger basketball games on WKNO with Matt Dillion and also baseball coach from 1963 to 1971, as the new head of the M Club.
  • The PBA will be in Jonesboro this weekend with the Subway of Bono Jonesboro Open, which as I write this, is already underway in Jonesboro. I really haven’t seen much coverage about the tournament in the paper here in Memphis, but from what I’ve read in the Jonesboro Sun, it should be a good tournament.
  • On behalf of myself, I would like to welcome another National League Central man in Joe Meyer. I know it’s been 100 years since your beloved Cubs won a World Series, but I’m sure you understand that a team can have a bad century.

My time’s up. You’ve been a great audience and I will tell you about my new supermodel girlfriend much later on.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
