The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,856,677 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

Justin Smith’s Tuesday

Posted by Matt on May 8, 2007

Sorry for the lack of updates, I am in the middle of a move and it is far more involved than I ever imagined. Please stick with us as I promise not to let it die around here…anyways, on to the notes…

Cincinnati Bengals’ Defensive End Justin Smith signed the one-year contract allotted to him by the Bengals use of the Franchise Tag. The deal will reportedly be worth $8.644 million, base, for the 2007 season. I am pleased to keep veteran Smith on the squad as our defense left something to be desired and Smith has lead the team’s linemen in tackles in each of the past five seasons, so clearly he was a necessity. Also pleased, apparently, are Justin’s pockets, places that will be very full for quite some time on the pay-day he received with this new contract. I love Smith’s energy and intensity, however, for a former fourth overall selection, I do not think he has quite lived up to the hype. Nonetheless, there will be no bashing as Smith is one of the “core” players a franchise needs to keep around. Smith is someone who has always wanted to win for the Bengals and for the city of Cincinnati and has rarely caused a problem; good behavior, something the Bengals could use a little more of.

The Cincinnati Reds lost another in the same, typical fashion that Redlegs’ fans have become accustomed too this year and the headlines on the Reds’ Homepage write themselves anymore: Another Bullpen Breakdown Dooms Reds. I am convinced that the Reds’ blogger is no longer toeing the company line as I do not even have to rip the Reds anymore, they are self-ripping.

“The Rocket” Roger Clemens worked out, yesterday and today, at the University of Kentucky’s Cliff Hagan Stadium as he was in town for the Lexington Legends, the Single-A affiliate of the Houston Astros and the team his son plays 3rd Base for. According to ESPN.com, Clemens will reportedly continue to train in Lexington, as to allow him to follow his son, while he is training for his New York Yankees debut. I live very close to the university’s baseball stadium, so I will work on getting some inside photographs and news from his rehab. He is not allowed to train at Applebee’s Park, as the team is an affiliate of the Astros, so he should be around campus quite some time during the Legends’ season. Hopefully I can pull through with some clutch, inside information.

That’s about it for tonight, the Spurs/Suns series should be a good one, I’ll take the San Antonio Spurs in 6-games. I hope to have more for you soon enough, so do not give up on us. I am looking to add a new Summer segment as soon as time allows. I also want to start doing sports-on-television spots, highlighting what to watch and I have not forgotten my piece on University of Kentucky basketball recruiting and I am now working on a possible piece about Donovan McNabb and his future with the Philadelphia Eagles. Thanks guys, and check back tomorrow as I’ll have some things in store for everyone at some point around mid-day…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
