The Nasty Boys' Sports Blog

The Voice of the Jaded Sports Fan

  • tnblogo.jpg

  • The Recruits

    • 1,856,878 people think The Nasty Boys are geniuses (since June, 2007).
  • The Posts

  • The Nasty Boys

  • The Archives

School’s Out For Summer

Posted by Matt on May 7, 2007

You read the famous Alice Cooper lyric correctly, I am indeed done with school for the Summer, so hopefully I can begin to devote a little more time to improving the site and the content. I am currently in the middle of a move but that will take minimal time as I will probably just throw all my belongings away so I do not have to move them…anyways, on to some weekend highlights…

For starters, it was a big weekend for featured sports and it seems as if the hype did not disappoint. I made three preview posts over the weekend and basically split my predictions. I completely nailed the De La Hoya/Mayweather, Jr. fight in my pre-fight analysis as well as in my prediction. I had Mayweather by split decision and I believe it came down to Mayweather on two cards, 116-112 and 115-113, and De La Hoya on one card at 116-112. As expected, it was an extremely close fight and it came down to Floyd’s strengths, and style of fight, to pull it off in the end.

Now, to completely discredit me and any attempt at sports speculation I might have made, I completely blew the Kentucky Derby predictions and I hope nobody took what I wrote to heart as I realized as they were coming down the backstretch that I was “just kidding.” In my defense, this is why they call it horse racing. If it were any easier, it would be called “predicting.” Furthermore, it was an exciting race as Street Sense, the favorite, came from 19th to 1st on the backstretch to record the victory. A great Derby performance, no doubt, but mark my words, Street Sense WILL NOT win the “Triple Crown.” The Preakness Stakes is next on the docket for the “Triple Crown” (May 19, 2007) and is a slightly shorter race than the Kentucky Derby; because of this, I am going with the speed of Hard Spun, who lead the majority of the race but ran out of steam at the end, something that may not be a problem at the shorter race, to take home the win at Pimlico Raceway in three weeks.

My last wave of predictions came in yesterdays NASCAR race, originally scheduled for Saturday night but a rain out pushed it to Sunday. I split those predictions as well, correctly picking Jeff Gordon to lead the most laps, and he did with 114, but incorrectly picking Dale Earnhardt, Junior to win and he came in 13th after a solid run (I will touch on that later). Jimmie Johnson posted the win meaning Hendrick Motor Sports has won 7 of the 10 races thus far this season and finished 1, 2, 4 in yesterday’s race. Unbelievable. I am not saying this just because hindsight is 20/20, but at the time of my Jim Stewart 400 Preview, my brain was telling me to go with a Hendrick powered car, as Hendrick has now won all of the “Car of Tomorrow” races, but my heart was telling me to go with Dale, Jr. What I wanted to touch on “later” about Earnhardt was that he got screwed. The #66 of Jeff Green got beside him and spun him out DURING CAUTION LAPS. Honestly, who does that? They’re only running, what, 75 MPH and you cannot control your car? Get off of the circuit, Jeff. I digress.

Get used to seeing a lot of this as Roger Clemens announced yesterday that he will be returning for his 24-season to pitch for the *drumroll* New York Yankees, the team Clemens so graciously retired from in 2003 to a standing ovation and wave of flash bulbs. This is good news for King Steinbrenner and manager Joe Torre as their pitching staff was beginning to look like a MASH unit, on top of having 9-different starters already this season on a pitching rotation of 5. Honestly, I would have bet on him returning to the Houston Astros with his family in Texas and his son, Colby, playing for Single-A Astro’s affiliate the Lexington Legends. I also would have pinned the Boston Red Sox as the sentimental favorite as well, as Boston is where Clemens started his career. I would have had New York in at a close third on the radar. Nonetheless, Clemens proves me wrong and is reportedly going to join the team in roughly 3-weeks.

The Cincinnati Reds pulled out a nice win in a game that was very entertaining to watch. Bronson Arroyo recorded his 2nd win of the season, 1st at home, and the Reds’ bats came alive in front of the Sunday crowd. Arroyo only went 5 2/3-innings but by the grace of God, the Reds’ bullpen did not allow a single run and bucked the recent trend of the starter having to go 7-innings to record the win or else the bullpen would meltdown and snatch defeat out of the jaws of victory. Outfielder and stud-rookie Josh Hamilton did it all during the game with 2-home runs, a Jim Edmonds-esque catch, and a rocket assist to gun down a runner at third base. Josh is really starting to make a strong case to be an everyday starter. Either way, I guess us Redlegs fans can take solace in the fact we will not have to see Roger Clemens in an Astros uniform all year like the past three seasons…

Hopefully things will pick up in the next week or so around here and I hope to have a serious piece out on Kentucky Basketball Recruiting as well as hopefully some more humorous pieces for the dog-days of Summer…

3 Responses to “School’s Out For Summer”

  1. Evorgleb said

    One of the guys over at Highbrid Nation wrote a very interesting post about Roger Clemems and and the “real” reason he has come back to play for the Yankees. Good Stuff.

  2. The General said

    a cool 4M a month for the rocket, dont see why the reds didnt go pick up themselves…

  3. Matt said

    He’s not a “fly ball” pitcher, thats why. Otherwise we’d give him $10M a year!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
